Lily & Co.’s building has a rich history, spanning more than 100 years on Sanibel. Constructed in 1915, the building on 520 Tarpon Bay Road was originally owned by the Florida Baptist Convention of Jacksonville. In 1929 the building opened as a school for African American children during Lee County’s efforts to update the educational facilities throughout the county. The school remained in service until around 1963, when the current Sanibel Elementary School, the island’s first integrated school was built.
On July 8, 1999, the historic Sanibel School was added to the U.S. National Register of Historic Places and stands as one of only three historic schools for black children in Lee County. The Sanibel School is also one of 140 places recognized in the “Florida Black Heritage Trail,” first published in 1991 by the Florida Department of State, Division of Historical Resources.
In 2006, in a change from its origins, the store became Lily & Co. Jewelers, a Sanibel jewelry gallery combining a fine jewelry store and art gallery in one location. We are very proud of our building’s long heritage and invite all guests to drop in and travel back in time!